Character Creation Guidelines

Rules and clarifications, Character Creation guidelines, and Discussion on new rules.

Character Creation Guidelines

Postby HST » Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:37 pm

Character Creation Overview


-Character Creation is per Laws of Ascension.
-Once the final character is approved you may spend an additional 60xp as character build points. Half of these points may only go to Backgrounds and Abilities.
-All the Traditions are available for play. As are Hollow Ones. Orphans, Disparates, and Technocrats require severe Storyteller discretion.

Trait Caps
-Traits are based on a staggering scale. Prioritize the categories as Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary. The Primary category has a maximum cap of 10+Arete+1, The Secondary category has a maximum cap of 10+Arete. The Tertiary cap has a maximum cap of 10+Arete-1.

Merits & Flaws
-There are Restricted merits and flaws and there are Disallowed ones. Restricted ones require a backstory and Storyteller adjudication. Disallowed ones are just that, not allowed.

Restricted Merits
-Immunity 6 or less
-Twin Souls (requires a second PC)
-Avatar Companion
-Dual Traditions
-Legendary Attribute
-True Love
-Manifest Avatar
-Shattered Avatar
-Resistant Pattern
-Any Merits not listed in a Mage the Ascension book. Furthermore, Storytellers also reserve the right to disallow any that they feel don't fit into the spirit of the game.

Restricted Flaws
-Primal Marks
-Any Flaw not listed in a Mage the Ascension book. Furthermore, Storyteller's also reserve the right to disallow any that they feel don't fit into the spirit of the game.

Disallowed Merits
-Any Technocracy based Merit for Tradition characters.
-Any Tradition based Merit for Technocracy characters.
-True Faith.
-Shapechanger Kin.

Disallowed Flaws
-Mayfly Curse
-Any Technocracy based Flaw for Tradition characters.
-Any Tradition based Flaw for Technocracy characters.

-Node:Not available at character creation.

-Chantry:Not available at character creation.

-Avatar:All Mages need at least a dot in this background, or else your seekings are going to be downright laconic.

-Familiar: Refer to Mage the Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition creation of the familiar. As it takes at least an Adept to create one, please write up a brief summary of how you obtained yours.

-Influences: All traits are capped at 2 for character creation. Any Tradition that provides a bonus to an Influence may bring said Influence to 3.

-Enhancement/Blessing/Totem/Wonder: These backgrounds are all up for Storyteller adjudication. The emphasis on dynamic and persistent characters should be the focus of these backgrounds, and not gaming the system. Please provide a write up of what said trait does, and how you obtained your special ability.

Beginning Rotes
-At the beginning of play a Mage gets one Rote per number of Spheres the character starts with.
-These Rotes can be conjunctional effects and players are encouraged to come up with creative uses for different spheres. Not just the effects that are listed in the book


-Rules are based out of the Laws of the Hunt Revised Book Except where noted below

-For those that are looking to start with any type of Numina you are able to choose up to five levels of Paths. You may spend three in one path for a level three rating (first intermediate) or break them up into multiple paths. You get one spell or ritual per level. Instead of the 10 freebies you get 5, subject to freebie costs. The advantages for your association remain in place. If you take a Scholar Association (Arcanum) you may choose two lores for free.

-Attribute Trait Caps: As a Sleeper: Primary; 13 Secondary; 12, and Tertiary; 11
As a Partially Awakened (Sorcerer, Psychic, Kinfolk, etc): Primary; 14, Secondary: 13, Tertiary; 12

-Instead of 3 Backgrounds you get 5.

-As of now all Merits and Flaws that are not out of Laws of the Hunt Revised is subject to severe discretion. For merits in that book the Disallowed one is: Ghoul. All other will be storyteller discretions but not restricted (Don’t do anything stupid and you’re golden).

-Besides the basic ones inside the Laws of the Hunt Revised these Backgrounds are available to Mortals. Unless otherwise specified, these are only available to Mortals.

Mana: Along with being able to spend Mana to lower the difficulty of a spell or ritual, Mana can be used to power certain Items an enchanter makes. In order to regain your pool of Mana, you must meditate in your chosen style for ten minutes. You then may spend a dot of Meditation or Mental trait to regain one point of Mana. A Sorcerer cannot gain Mana from something that contains a specific type of energy (Gnosis, Vitae, Sekhem), unless they have the requisite level of Mana Manipulation.

Occult Library: Different than the Mage Background, an Occult Library enables the holder to research a bit of knowledge or lore that they currently do not possess. Furthermore, at every odd level they gain a bonus trait to research. At every even level they gain a retest to research. These bonuses and retests only apply to a challenge when the user has access to the library. Only one person can use a library at a time. A Mage may be able to buy this background, but it is separate than the Mage Background: Library.

Equipment: This was a kinfolk only background, but now it is available to any Mortal.

Arsenal: This background is featured in Laws of the Reckoning but is now made available to any hunters and hunting organizations in the World of Darkness. Any independent hunter can take up to two levels of this during character creation, and those aligned with hunting organizations can take up to three. Warning Extensive use of high grade demolitions and militaristic armaments can and will alert the government. Even in New Hampshire.
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:29 am

Return to House Rules and Character Creation Guidelines

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests